MyDSL – DrScheme Extension

I worked a bit yesterday on trying to streamline DrScheme into a suitable MyDSL extension. I tried to compile it with as many features as possible, keeping in mind that it’s an educational-oriented tool in addition to being a scheme programming suite. This means it’s futile to remove all the docs, HelpCenter, etc., and just turn it into a development suite.

The long and short of it is, I got it compiled (over four hours on a 400mhz computer with 128MB RAM) and made a UCI. I haven’t had time to test it yet. I ran du on the directory tree for it and it came to 107 MB on the hard drive. The UCI, with all 14MB docs intact, is almost 30 MB. Removing the docs doesn’t reduce the UCI more than a couple MB. I’m inclined to leave them if it’s to be used in a learning environment.

I’ll play around with it more this weekend and see what I can do. I’ll probably submit scheme48.uci before I submit drscheme.uci.

Leave a Reply

