CNet Ten Open Source Alternatives Needed by Home Users

I’ve been planning to write an “open source for Windows” entry and I came across this list of open-source software for home users. Most, if not all, of these projects have Windows and Linux ports. I will follow up later this week with at least an update of my Portable Apps pages (which I’ll also try to set up soon as a separate collection from my DSL pages).

CNet – Open-source software rated: Ten alternatives you need

Here’s the quick list:

  1. Open Office
  2. MediaPortal
  3. VLC Media Player
  4. 7zip
  5. GIMP
  6. RSSOwl
  7. Pidgin (formerly GAIM)
  8. InfraRecorder
  9. Audacity
  10. Firefox
Leave a Reply

