Xfce Terminal and GNU screen

I’m currently using Xfce 4.4.2 on my laptop. I like it a lot. I also like using screen. I was getting frustrated when using screen in the Xfce Terminal because I couldn’t use backspace in screen but I could otherwise in Terminal.

The solution: open edit-preferences-advanced. Change the “backspace key” from Auto-detect to Control-h.

4 Responses to “Xfce Terminal and GNU screen”

  1. andylockran’s blog » Blog Archive » Xfce Tip Says:

    […] I got dead annoyed with backspace not working in screen in xfce.. this guy has the solution. […]

  2. miken700 Says:

    Thanks so much for this. I was in this boat too. Drove me mad to ctrl-b then ctrl-d just to backspace in screen (using bash). But I guess I could have used ctrl-h. :P

  3. lamnk Says:

    Thanks, this problem drived my crazy …

  4. Xfce Tip - Andy's Bag Says:

    […] I got dead annoyed with backspace not working in screen in xfce.. this guy has the solution. […]

Leave a Reply

