KDE Continues to Support 3.5.x

NOTICE (2010-02-09) TO PCLOS FORUM VISITORS AND OTHERS COMING IN FROM SITES LIKE DIGG: This post is a couple years old. I really wish I had better news for you about KDE 3.5 or even Linux 2.4. Times change. Life sucks sometimes. You can still use older software since it doesn’t have an expiry date but you’re pretty much on your own as far as security issues and bugs.

This announcement is a couple weeks old now, but I’d been using a version of KDE with some security and other issues on my primary desktop. I updated more parts of my system last night including KDE to 3.5.8, which is the latest in the repositories in my sources.list.

KDE 3.5.9 Release Announcement:

The KDE-PIM enterprise branch, that has already been shipped by some distributions has found its way into the stable branch of KDE. While KDE 3 has been in bugfix mode for quite a while now, the Release Team has decided to merge the enterprise branch and release it as KDE-PIM proper in 3.5.9 since no regressions are known and it makes packagers’ lives easier.

This update also fixes a few bugs in KPDF and other apps. It looks like KDE will continue to support 3x at least into the near future. I like this because KDE 4 looks like it’s way too much for my lowly computers to handle and I’ve experienced crashes in KMail and other apps in the PIM package. My solution was to remove the PIM package when I upgraded. Now I can add it back when I change my repositories.

I continue to weigh XFce versus KDE in terms of initial RAM load and how each fares after loading a mix of applications. Last night I updated XFce to 4.4.2. I was surprised that “free -mt” showed I was using as much RAM after login as I use after login in KDE. I need to look again and compare what’s running when each starts (maybe KDM is still running and bloating up XFce?). The result, though, is I end up swapping sooner and more frequently with XFce than with KDE. Like I said, I need to see what’s going on with that because it may not be related to XFce. I’ll dump KDE for XFce even though I prefer KDE.

One nitpick of the XFce package I upgraded to last night — the antialiasing is over the top. I think good fonts don’t need antialiasing at all. They render crisply. Antialiasing tends to blur things up, in my opinion. That’s never been more the case than what I was looking at last night. I had to turn off antialiasing and find a font that rendered cleanly without it. Between that, the RAM issue (I need to have more than 12 MB available at login), and not being able to get the screen lock to work, I switched back to KDE.

Leave a Reply

