Fedora 10 on AA1 Update: ratpoison and screen

Been setting up ratpoison and screen in Fedora 10 this morning since I can’t run yet. Now all my apps will open full screen when I open them in other window managers. Cool!

Here are some screenshots. First up, I ran into a bit of an issue using aterm for the first time ever. Maybe need to recompile? (UPDATE: Doh! No, it’s all good. I just checked my .Xresources and commented out the geometry line. Works now.)

aterm-FAIL-01

Another app I’ve found to be messed up is zile. I installed it yesterday and the replace-string mode isn’t there (neither are others like list-commands); M-x re[tab to complete] resulted in only one (recenter) match. No problem, I’m probably installing emacs (no X) anyway.

The terminal in these shots is xterm. The blue shit on the bottom of these shots is from the gdm theme. Yet another reason to skip that and use a proper console login.

Here’s a shot of “free -mt” (aliased) at fresh boot.  I don’t have resources trimmed yet nearly as much as I want. I can only imagine how bloated that default gdm theme is. One thing I keep noticing about default backgrounds and themes is that they’re not designed for the lowest common denominator — which really is a disservice to users of older, slower, less-able hardware whom Linux advocates have always targeted.

ratpoison-rocks-on-fedora

Hard to believe I had Gnome trimmed down to a similar level. Need to start with fewer services running! Also need to quit using Gnome apps to do little things like an Ubuntu user would; I love that message, though. Haven’t installed imagemagick yet.

Finally, here’s GNU screen in xterm in ratpoison after starting and running a bunch of other stuff.

screen-fedora-001

As you can see, I’m using mksh as my shell. I was going to install pdksh again but I saw the size of the binaries. Less bloated and more functional than bash either way. Guess I’m also kind of biased because of the BSD thing. Maybe I’ll try MirOS one of these days; not sure it would run on an AA1 (MirOS uses a no SMP kernel, Atom is multi-thread) or how much hardware support it would lack (does it have ath yet?).

Have a bit of mucking around with my wrapper and other scripts since aterm’s not working in ratpoison — using mplayer in terminal to playback audio and video since that’s a bit easier on the system than totem and everything else dressed up in GTK+. Not going to start compiling stuff yet even though I want either ratmen or dmenu; I haven’t even looked to see how headers are packaged in Fedora. I’ll probably set up a text-based menu (see Oct ’08 post “More GNU screen Tweaks”) instead before I do anything else.

UPDATE 06:16 US/Central – Installed emacs (nox) and removed zile. Already changed my scripts to use xterm so I’m probably removing aterm and libafterstep and whatever else was installed with it.

emacs-installed-01

Had to manually link emacs-22.3-nox to emacs. My mplayer wrapper also now opens PLS streams in screen.

Leave a Reply

