Update 20090705 – services trimming, fluxbox tweaking, added xsel, dircolors, etc

I was going to install some ratpoison-friendly tools late (for me) last night but, as usual, they come with so much overhead that I decided against installing. These are things that work well regardless of window manager. I’d run into similar bloat issues back when I was using Debian on my old laptop — try to install something light and it comes with MBs of dependencies that aren’t needed unless you compile with every option. This is one of my biggest gripes against binary-based distros. For the convenience of not having to compile anything, you’re hostage to how others compile them for you.

This time the apps I wanted to add were xsel and xbindkeys; the dependencies in Fedora are guile and tcl/tk.

screenshot-20090704185238

Had to say no. I think I can add xsel without guile or tcl/tk — I’ll check and see in a bit. (Edit…) Okay, I’ve installed xsel because it has no dependencies I didn’t already have installed. I could live with guile but I’m not going to install even more languages like tcl just to use one small app. Fedora comes with enough as it is. Why not streamline everything and use perl, python, or lua only? I think I installed ruby when I installed mew. I wish everything in open source was more standardized and more attention was paid to reducing dependencies so you don’t have disparate libs for disparate apps like this.

I also spent a little time last night trimming down services that start up in my favored run level. I decided to start CUPS manually since a lot of the time I’m not connected to my main printer or near enough one of the available network printers to get my stuff. I also shut off the NFS-related (rpc) services, IPV6, and a few others.

This morning I started on something totally unimportant except to Linux “reviewers” (especially the ones at distrowatch), aesthetics. I wanted something a little less dark. This is it for now. Whatthefuckever.

screenshot-20090705071957

Of course, my terminal is still black and about 75% of what I do is in that (screen) so it doesn’t make much difference. I decided to alias ls to include dircolors in my mksh profile so I have a little more color there now. Not a big deal either way. Same information as before.

Since I added more stuff in my .xinitrc, it’s apples to oranges comparing initial RAM hits. At login, though, I’ve lost about 10 more MB. I know there are people who consider unused RAM a waste of resources, but I find it more wasteful to clog up RAM with things that won’t be used or which serve dubious purposes lacking any utilitarian value (including wobbling windows).

I still have more things to do with fluxbox configuration, especially adding more keybindings. It’s kind of awkward the way it’s set up now with some of the defaults. I also want to add more things to the menu to automate tasks.

That’ll all have to wait. I hadn’t planned on doing any of this last night or this morning. More during the week when (if) I find time.

Leave a Reply

