Update 20090709 pm – installed crunchbang

I did some backups this afternoon and installed crunchbang. I made a few partition changes. One thing I almost regretted off the bat was only setting aside only 5GB for / and now it’s about half full. I have separate partitions for /home and /boot as well; this time I decided to go ahead and set up a really large FAT partition (mount point /windows in Linux, D: in Windows) to share data between operating systems. I transferred my music collection and some documents to the FAT partition and set up links (shortcuts) in Windows so everything is basically just as it was before.

screenshot-0001

I know, I know. That’s a little harder than Vivaldi and Schubert.

I have a few nits to pick. I love the fact #! has some of my favorite apps. I went to use naim and it’s configured to open in GNU screen. Fine, I can live with that. But after it showed that it was starting in screen, I did C-a c to open a new terminal instance within screen. Nothing happened. So I tried again. Then I opened another terminal to check. Sure as shit, screen was running but naim was running separate. WTF?! So I shut down naim, attached to the screen session, and tried to start naim again. It detached screen and started running on its own. I quit naim again and tried starting within screen again using the –no-screen flag, got some error messages, and then naim finally started within the screen session rather than outside it. I’ve used naim and screen so much that I know this shouldn’t be happening. I didn’t spend any time beyond that to see what was happening, but I have the most recent sources and I’ll probably go ahead and recompile it myself so that it functions the way I want it to.

Another thing, #! has a few remaining clues that it once offered xfce. I don’t know if some of those things are there as dependencies of something else. I saw libthunar-vfs* and xfburn (brasero is in the base as well) along with a couple libxfce* things. Could be in use, but I’m going to see what happens when I start de-bloating (heh) it this weekend.

Speaking of which, I went quickly through the list to find things to get rid of after installing emacs22-nox. Here’s the starting point. Maybe openoffice.org will fit when I’m done. 

abiword    
abiword-common   
abiword-help   
abiword-plugin-grammar  
abiword-plugin-mathview  
agave    
claws-mail   
claws-mail-html2-viewer  
claws-mail-i18n   
claws-mail-pgpinline  
claws-mail-pgpmime  
claws-mail-trayicon  
dwm    
dwm-tools   
gnumeric   
gnumeric-common   
gnumeric-doc   
gwibber    
inkscape   
jfsutils   
libgoffice-0-6   
libgoffice-0-6-common  
libgweather-common  
libgweather1   
libpurple-bin   
libpurple0   
libthunar-vfs-1-2  
libxfce4util4   
libxfcegui4-4   
linux-headers-2.6.28-13  
linux-headers-2.6.28-13-generic 
linux-headers-generic  
metacity   
metacity-common   
mutt    
mysql-common   
nano    
ndiswrapper-common  
ndiswrapper-utils-1.9  
nvidia-173-modaliases  
nvidia-180-modaliases  
nvidia-71-modaliases  
nvidia-96-modaliases  
nvidia-common   
pidgin    
pidgin-data   
rhythmbox   
tcl8.4    
thunar-data   
vim    
vim-common   
vim-gtk    
vim-gui-common   
vim-runtime   
vim-tiny   
xfburn    
xfsprogs   

 That’s subject to change — I don’t know what some of these (agave?) are and there may have been something else I overlooked as I quickly edited the list. I’ll leave any of those lynch-pin packages that look like they’ll remove half the system with them. I know I don’t need kernel headers. I love vim and mutt but I’d rather leverage emacs for all I can. I also like dwm but I doubt I’ll use it on my AA1, even though I’ll probably install ratpoison sooner than later.

My impressions over all are really positive. Surprisingly positive. I didn’t have a bunch of stupid icons to delete from either the desktop or the menu. I didn’t have to go find dubious codecs or closed source stuff (Skype, Flash) I want. I had a few services to shut off by default but that’s going to happen with just about any distro anymore.

That’s it for today. It’s bedtime.

Leave a Reply

