Update 20090710 am – trivial pursuits

I’m running later this morning (broad daylight for a change) so I have some time to poke around more with crunchbang.

screenshot-0003

Fiddling around with wallpaper and app settings and checking out overlap between apps and their features to see what can stay or go; btw, that wallpaper didn’t last long. I don’t think this terminator thing is for me running through python like this. That’s overkill and I don’t see what it offers that something lighter like mrxvt wouldn’t. I installed aterm and it uses about a quarter of the RAM of the instance of terminator running through python — which I’m sure pales in comparison to anything else it possibly requires (thinking gnome-this or gnome-that) that aterm doesn’t.

I’ve also lightened the load of services at boot. I’m still showing over 200MB in use at boot with free -mt; conky and htop report only the much lower cache amount. I’ll take a closer look later, and might also get around to removing some of the stuff on that list from last night.

Leave a Reply

