getting ready for crunchbang de-bloat, etc.

I haven’t changed things around much yet beyond what I wrote yesterday. I’ve started looking at what I can remove and what I’ll have to live with. Here’s a list of the things from dry runs I did earlier to see what I can do without causing major breakage:

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 abiword abiword-common abiword-help abiword-plugin-grammar 
 abiword-plugin-mathview gnumeric gnumeric-common gnumeric-doc 
 libgoffice-0-6 libgoffice-0-6-common 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 10 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 60.4MB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 agave 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 1012kB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 claws-mail claws-mail-html2-viewer claws-mail-i18n claws-mail-pgpinline 
 claws-mail-pgpmime claws-mail-trayicon tango-icon-theme-claws-mail-3.6.0 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 7 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 9720kB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 linux-headers-2.6.28-13 linux-headers-2.6.28-13-generic 
 linux-headers-generic 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 3 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 74.7MB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 crunchbang-gwibber-theme gedit-plugins gwibber libmetacity0 metacity 
 metacity-common python-gnome2-desktop 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 7 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 16.6MB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 nvidia-173-modaliases nvidia-180-modaliases nvidia-71-modaliases 
 nvidia-96-modaliases nvidia-common 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 5 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 459kB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 libpurple-bin libpurple0 pidgin pidgin-data 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 4 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 28.9MB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 rhythmbox 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 14.5MB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 vim vim-gtk vim-gui-common vim-runtime xchat 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 5 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 30.2MB will be freed.

The following packages will be REMOVED:
 libexo-0.3-0 libthunar-vfs-1-2 libxfce4util4 libxfcegui4-4 libxfconf-0-2 
 thunar-data xfburn xfconf 
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 8 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 19.5MB will be freed.

I think I counted over 200MB and that’s without counting things like gpodder, which is of no use to me if MTP support is lacking for my S3 (so libmtp and mtp-tools will go), and a few other things in that list. I can also get rid of some of the CD/DVD tools (brasero if it’s not in that list above) since I don’t have any plans to start toting around a USB CD/DVD which will probably outweigh my AA1. My mini CDRW bit the dust when I was taking care of family last year. I haven’t been able to find another device this small and thumbdrives are big enough now that I don’t see any reason to get an external optical device. Even Microsoft is considering putting the Windows 7 installer on a USB drive to make installation easier for netbook users. What’s funny is, Microsoft may beat most of the big Linux distros to the punch — with most distros, live images can be put on USB media via external tools like unetbootin or Fedora’s live USB creator. There are only a handful which have USB-ready images that can be installed via simple scripts. I think that’s the future whether netbooks and nettops ever outsell traditional computers.

100_0660_scaled

Yes, that’s the old CDRW next to my AA1. If anyone knows of a DVD-RW (or Blu-Ray!) this small, please let me know.

By the way, no problems like I had in Fedora yet with wifi even though I’ve tested suspend/resume. The only thing that continues to be an issue is the initial association with the wrong AP before it re-associates with my router. I really, really don’t like that but I haven’t looked to see what I can do to stop it. In addition to the stuff in dmesg, iwconfig shows the association with SSID=”the wrong one” and then after the nm-applet icon changes to show that it’s connected iwconfig shows SSID=”my router.”

I have some other things I have to take care of today and a busy evening, too. It might be tomorrow before I get down to business.

Leave a Reply

