More CrunchBang De-Bloat

I decided to cut some more bloat. Among (many) other things:

% sudo aptitude remove firefox firefox-3.0 ubufox firefox-3.0-branding
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Reading extended state information
Initializing package states... Done
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  firefox firefox-3.0 firefox-3.0-branding ubufox
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 4 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B of archives. After unpacking 4317kB will be freed.
Writing extended state information... Done
(Reading database ... 105476 files and directories currently installed.)
Removing ubufox ...
Removing firefox ...
Removing firefox-3.0 ...
Removing manually selected alternative - switching to auto mode
Removing firefox-3.0-branding ...
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Reading extended state information
Initializing package states... Done
Writing extended state information... Done

I was going to seriously vent my spleen about this but I won’t right now except to say that I’m increasingly dissatisfied with Firefox. It’s become a complete pig and I think time has proven that it’s not much safer than any other browser. It has greater requirements than other browsers, including IE. If I need to use a Mozilla-based browser, I’ll use conkeror (which I’ve installed).

I’m getting ready to start removing other things, including openbox (which I’m unlikely to ever use), dwm, vim, and a number of other apps I either don’t use or probably never will. I noticed one of those apps-I-won’t-use was patched the other day. (Speaking of patching, I saw my update yesterday made me a brand spanking new initrd. WTF-ever.)

screenshot-20090718100236

It may have been easier to do a netinstall/minimal install and only set up what I actually wanted. Which isn’t much at all. Notice I keep wanting “less work” with all this shit only to end up compiling my own damn kernel, downloading sources for things like libmtp to “fix” what’s available in repos, etc.? I also have the latest sources for ratpoison (released in June). Why would I recompile that? Because I don’t think I really need xft for ratpoison — not to mention whatever other patches are applied. There are other things I want to update/fix/recompile. Before long, I’ll have nearly every -dev package for everything I have installed.

Which makes me wonder, if I’m going to keep recompiling stuff I may as well install a source-based distro or build from scratch. At this point, I wish I’d done that when I decided to unify my disparate Linux partitions. If you want something done right, gotta do it yourself.

It’s never too late.

--
posted from weblogger in emacs
edited to add image and categories
Leave a Reply

