Adios gdm and WTF…

Scored another 20MB of disk space by removing gdm and various theme packages. Nothing against the crunchbang login screen and it’s not like I’m running out of space on my hard drive. I was more interested in this:

             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           998         76        922          0          4         45
-/+ buffers/cache:         26        972
Swap:         2094          0       2094
Total:        3092         76       3016

I had about 20MB more RAM available without gdm, etc., even though I wasn’t yet running wireless (this is with my “bigger” 2.6.30.1 kernel). I’ll add a screenshot here:

screenshot-20090721215236

My .xinitrc is only “exec ratpoison” because my .ratpoisonrc has all my startup commands in it already. Thought everything was okay until I noticed the nm-applet icon seemed stuck on searching for the network. For the first time while using #! I was prompted to enter my WPA passphrase. Huh, what’s up with that? Hadn’t done that before at work or at home or library or anywhere else.

If something is set up between NetworkManager and gdm, that’s really fucked up. Why are all these distros spawning and thereby tying networking to X? Argh. I’m going to look for alternatives. I know there’s wicd, and I looked briefly at trying wifiroamd (but didn’t try it) while using Fedora.

About to quit ratpoison and find out if I have to enter my WPA pass again.

UPDATE: Fixed it by copying relevant lines from /etc/pam.d/gdm to the login file in the same directory, e. g., so that pam_gnome_keyring autostarts. That is a really fucking stupid way to set up something like that, IMO, but that’s how I’ve usually thought about Ubuntu (and Gnome as well) anyway.

Leave a Reply

