/etc/pam.d/login diff

I wrote late last night that I removed gdm. One of the consequences was that pam-gnome-keyring is tied to the configuration in /etc/pam.d/gdm; the standard config for console login doesn’t start it (this may be an issue if changing from gdm to other X logins like slim or xdm; I don’t know because I don’t care) so anything using pam-gnome-keyring, such as networkmanager or pgp, will prompt for passwords without using gnome-keyring (e. g., I had to manually enter my WPA passphrase to connect to my router).

As I wrote last night, I edited /etc/pam.d/login with a few lines from the gdm file in that same directory. Here’s the diff between the original file and new file.

40c40
 # @include common-auth
83,84c83,84
< @include common-session
 # @include common-session
> # @include common-password
90a91,98
> 
> @include common-auth
> auth    optional        pam_gnome_keyring.so
> @include common-account
> session required        pam_limits.so
> @include common-session
> session optional        pam_gnome_keyring.so auto_start
> @include common-password

Or, in a nutshell, I just commented out lines in /etc/pam.d/login which were duplicated with the seven lines I added. If you copy over the gdm settings and don’t comment those out, be prepared to enter your password twice at login (like I did the first time before fixing that).

Leave a Reply

