Productivity: Setting Up at in Crunchbang

I needed to set up something to start at a time certain last night in what used to be crunchbang (considering I replaced over half the stuff in the default base, it’s not so much crunchbang anymore). That means using the at command; cron is a great tool for things that need to repeat on a schedule, but at is the tool to use for “one shot” events.

I entered “at 22:00” and wasn’t too surprised it threw out an error when I hit return. I looked in /etc and saw there was only the at.deny file but no at.allow. So I quickly added my username to at.allow. Then running at again showed that a certain file didn’t exist. Again, no big surprise — I openly admit a bias against Ubuntu because it uses shitty graphical utilities rather than setting up standard tools. So my next step was to setting up (touch) the file .SEQ in /var/spool/cron/atjobs.

% sudo su
root@pluto:/etc# cd /var/spool/cron/atjobs/
root@pluto:/var/spool/cron/atjobs/# touch .SEQ
root@pluto:/var/spool/cron/atjobs# ls -al
total 8
drwxrwx--T 2 daemon daemon 4096 2009-07-26 21:27 .
drwxr-xr-x 5 root   root   4096 2009-06-30 05:53 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 root   root      0 2009-07-26 21:27 .SEQ

Uh oh, that won’t friggin’ work — it’ll result in denial of permission (unless you run as root, which isn’t necessary):

% at 21:30
warning: commands will be executed using /bin/sh
Cannot open lockfile /var/spool/cron/atjobs/.SEQ: Permission denied

The file needs daemon-daemon ownership. This is very easy to fix. See how easy it is, boys and girls?

root@pluto:/var/spool/cron/atjobs# chown daemon.daemon .SEQ
root@pluto:/var/spool/cron/atjobs# ls -al
total 8
drwxrwx--T 2 daemon daemon 4096 2009-07-26 21:27 .
drwxr-xr-x 5 root   root   4096 2009-06-30 05:53 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 daemon daemon    0 2009-07-26 21:27 .SEQ
root@pluto:/var/spool/cron/atjobs# exit

Once I had that set up, I could test it to play a file (I wrote this Sunday night).

% at 21:30
warning: commands will be executed using /bin/sh
at> ogg123 ~/audio/fuckinaye.ogg<EOT>
job 2 at Sun Jul 26 21:30:00 2009

The EOT at the end of fuckinaye.ogg is just ctrl-d (remember that from when mail was a true commandline program?). At 9:30pm, I heard the test ogg file.

Now with it properly set up, I can use it to launch individual tasks when I need them and I don’t have to run X to do it from some stupid box with dials and buttons.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Productivity: Setting Up at in Crunchbang”

  1. fondspararna Says:

    kickass, just what i was looking for!
    cheers,
    F

Leave a Reply

