No Secondary y-axis Title in OOo?

I’m spending this chilly morning setting up some charts of my exercise activities for the year while I wait for it to warm up outside. I’ve been switching between different office applications: OpenOffice.org 3.1.1 in Windows, OOo 2.4 in Debian, and Lotus Symphony 1.3 (based on OOo 1.x and which I replaced OOo with) in Scientific Linux. Encountered a little problem: I’ve noticed across the board that I can’t give a label/legend to a secondary y-axis.

I tried to edit the chart and used the “insert” menu, which gave me the dialog shown when I clicked on “titles.”I know OOo 3 brought some significant charting improvements, but I found the same problem exists in 3.1.1 in Windows (not installing 3.x in Linux; I may install OpenBSD, which has OOo 3.x in ports and packages, on the computer currently running SL 5.4). I added the subtitle in lieu of an available secondary y-axis title. (Edit: I suppose I could also include a label from row or column in a legend.)

Short of editing the chart in Draw or GIMP, or even using gnuplot to get the kind of chart I want with proper labels, I’m not sure what else to try. It’s not as frustrating, though, as having to walk instead of run this year due to knee and ankle injuries.

Leave a Reply

