Update 20100209 – Debian Lenny, TinyCore, emacs, ratpoison, oroborus, and security of small distros

AA1
I’ve intended to sell this thing but haven’t yet. I updated my AA1 page last week to reflect the fact that I really don’t run Linux on it anymore. I still have {Tiny,Micro}Core set up on it, but I’ve booted that maybe three times in the past few months including once this morning to get my emacs-related files. I don’t know if the issues with wireless were related to the network stack, the ath5k driver itself, wpa-supplicant, or a combination of factors. For the last time, it’s NOT a hardware issue because the problem never happened (meaning started) under Windows; it only happened (started) under Linux and persisted after rebooting. I occasionally boot TinyCore from a USB stick on my other computers (see below).

New Desktop/Workstation
It came with Windows XP Pro installed. I first installed Scientific Linux 5.4 via the live CD, which provides a Gnome desktop. I’ve already posted about adding an old hard drive that had OpenBSD 4.3 on it, on which I installed NetBSD 5.0.1 after backing up $HOME. I’ve been too busy to even update SL54 (which I know has updates because I was also running it on my new-old laptop for a while), let alone configure NetBSD beyond the basics (e. g., setting up my network card even though it’s not yet networked, SSH, etc.). I’d hoped to set it up further this past weekend but I’ve been eye-deep in a stack of reports to edit and charts to generate.

New-Old Laptop
I’m still using Debian Lenny, which I installed using net install. I let it go ahead and install the default Gnome desktop even though I initially thought about just doing a minimal installation and adding what I wanted. One of the reasons I did that is because life has been so hectic the past 18-24 months that I care a lot less about bloat than I do about the convenience factor and having everything ready to roll. Otherwise I’d already have the other computer set up and ready to roll, no?

I have switched some apps around, though. I was using xemacs but decided instead to revert to GNU emacs 21.4 from backports so I’ll have more of the modes I’ve come to take for granted and which require either finding via apt or from their developers. I’m posting this now via weblogger.el (which I’ll have to clean up later) from within emacs. I’ve also installed oroborus and am using it instead of metacity within Gnome (edit ~/.gnomerc to include a line “export WINDOW_MANAGER=oroborus”); this is RAM-sparing to some degree but not nearly enough. I already have ratpoison installed as well, and will more likely than not start paring down on the Gnome bloat as I find time. I’ve been running ratpoison mostly under another user account.

Other Computers
My ancient ThinkPad got a minimal install of Debian Lenny several months ago but hasn’t been booted in at least a month. I may use it for TinyCore. Or as I’d intended with Lenny just to be a temporary HTML/blog server for home use. I may just use MicroCore if I do that.

Nothing to report on my old MMX box. I haven’t booted it in so long I don’t even remember what it has on it.

Unfinished Business
Speaking of {Tiny,Micro}Core, I started on a screencast/presentation back before Christmas that I alluded to at least once here. I’ve been too busy to finish it. It’s in response to a question that was asked at the TCL forums about using TCL as an enterprise Linux replacement. I wanted to demonstrate beyond the more obvious answers why I thought it was unsuitable and worked out a quick and dirty concept to show how vulnerable such a distro — based basically on one file — could be. This kind of goes beyond the security of the image being read-only and, accordingly, being able to reboot into its original state; instead, I wanted to see how difficult it would be to take advantage of the fact that the image is on a read-write partition which can be mounted by user tc locally or remotely and then replaced. My little POC requires user interaction at this stage (which was in maybe 20 minutes’ work) to basically get a corrupt image to replace the original so that each subsequent booting of it isn’t actually the “pristine” original tinycore.gz image but instead the corrupted one (which could have any variety of “reconfigurations” in it, but mine basically pings another computer when it has an IP and has a message stored in a file stating what changes have been made to the original image).

I haven’t decided if I’ll go through and see if I can get it to work remotely without user interaction. Even if I do that, I won’t post it here. Sorry, kiddies.

Since these small image-based distros typically lack logging facilities, it would be trivial to pull this off and possibly leverage vulnerabilities in various packages to further make a mess of it. The smaller the distro’s base image, I think the less noticeable it would be. With my download speed, I can download the TinyCore image in just a few seconds.

Also, I tested this on USB. It’s trivial to test if something has been booted from sd{a,b} and contains a directory named boot containing a file called tinycore.gz. The same applies to other small distros which similarly use one file to store the operating system, allows full sudo (or, in the case of some like Puppy, root only), etc. Even though something is running from RAM, it’s still found on a storage device attached to the computer and can be mounted (unless it’s quickly removed). So I don’t think this is inherently more secure than anything else (or inherently secure at all), and the smaller size could be a disadvantage since it would take less time to download and be less likely to be detected by most users.

As improbable as it is that such things can be accomplished without some kind of user interaction or physical contact with a USB stick to install a corrupted image, it’s still possible. Add in potential vulnerabilities from various packages — including browsers, improperly set up servers, etc. — and the possibilities increase both locally and remotely.

No, the sky is not falling, but there is a potential for risk even though the image itself is read-only. The image may be, but its partition isn’t. The risk may be acceptable for most uses. It isn’t acceptable for enterprise use — not without some kinds of safeguards that enterprise distros have to help reduce problems like this from occurring.

I’m not knocking these small distros. I think they have a special niche, but too many people think they can be one-size-fits-all. Enterprise-grade distros — including RHEL and its clones, SLED, etc. — have a variety of safeguards that would be “bloat” in something designed to be small and minimal. Adding those things to a minimalist distro would seem to be counter to their very purposes. That includes everything from security enhancements to logging facilities (you really do want to know who logged into which computer at what time on what day, and having every user named “tc” can’t be of much use if you need a chain of custody for various computer records, file records, changes, etc.). Moreover, the packages or extensions these small distros offer typically don’t undergo the same level of testing as in enterprise distros, are more often than not bleeding edge rather than tested and stable versions, and aren’t signed. Even signed/trusted repositories aren’t free from trouble as the RedHat/Fedora people found out a couple years ago when their mirrors were compromised.

I’ll see if I can finish the presentation and get it posted soon. Then again, I thought I would’ve had that done a month ago. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

