Setting Up Desktop – Part 1

I won’t be using my desktop as a desktop very often but I need to get it up and running. After wavering between what to do with it, I started installing something today at lunch. I hope to have it finished by this weekend. Or sooner. I left in the IDE drives because the big honking SATA drive is being used for NAS until I find a big-enough replacement for that (original crapped out).

Yeah, I know. Geez. I didn’t want to do any work at all. I was going to do a minimal Debian net install and only set up what I want. Then I thought I shouldn’t waste anymore time since I installed NetBSD (and Scientific Linux on the secondary drive). Then I was going to just set up MicroCore with only the things I need it to have, and then do more later when I have time. I think, though, that I want a bit more flexibility than Debian and I want to avoid some of the hacky-ness of {Tiny,Micro}Core and have a full set of utilities instead of busybox. As much as I love the latter, it’s just a bit Rube Goldberg in setting up the way I want it to work (not to mention I’d have to compile quite a few things that I want/need which aren’t in the repository); the remaining Linux partition on my AA1 is TinyCore — which I could only use with a USB wifi adapter anymore since I have zero confidence in the Linux ath5k driver with wpa_supplicant — and by the time I add GNU core utils, compile libarchive, etc., I’m pretty close to a Debian/Slackware minimal install anyway. Aside from portage’s bloat, I think I can keep this pretty lean (which is more a goal than a necessity). If I end up regretting Gentoo, I’ll likely install MicroCore and then screw with it more when (if) I can find more time. If it goes as smoothly as it has so far, I could end up putting it on my laptop, too (I’ve aborted several entries I started about excessive dependencies…).

My kernel is still compiling now. I won’t have much chance to mess with it until later tonight (after 24 at the earliest) and probably won’t touch it again until Wednesday. Hopefully I’ll have a “Part 2” up in a timely manner. Haha.

Leave a Reply

