Update 20100807: dwm on SL55 and Aspire One

I’ve narrowed my three favorite window managers down to ratpoison, ion{2,3}, and dwm. Maybe not always in that order but pretty close. And jwm is a steady fourth; it would rate higher if it didn’t have a crappy static menu (which requires restarting the whole window manager to take advantage of menu changes).

I got pissed at jwm while trying to watch videos in fullscreen. It started to open fullscreen and then it went back to normal (in-browser) size. I made sure it wasn’t related to settings I had for firefox (so that it runs maximized without any window decorations) but that wasn’t it. So I decided to compile dwm.

Just a few tweaks to compile it with a sane color scheme and to run in monocle mode by default (netbook split screen? no thanks), along wih a few other things.

I don’t remember if I added that I removed gdm the other day. It’s just as fast and easy to change .xinitrc (or set up alternates) to launch a different window manager as needed, or if needed. Speaking of which, I added a line in my .Xdefaults to adjust dpi because gdm was apparently setting it.

Xft.dpi:        96

Now all is well with certain applications that were giving me disturbingly large fonts. Everything is just like before I got rid of gnome and gdm and everything else.

I hope to finish my next update by Monday. It will explain what I’m using in place of OpenOffice.org.

Leave a Reply

